ARC Review: Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay #4) by Jill Shalvis

33783425Title: Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay #4)

Author: Jill Shalvis

Publisher: Avon Books

Publication Date: September 26, 2017

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: eBook, Print

Length: 384 pages

Rating: 3 Stars

 

synopsis

Meet cute…

Run for the hills—temporarily. That’s Colbie Albright’s plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie’s so over it that she’s under it. She’s also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she’s pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won’t be a stranger for long.

Make merry…

Spence’s commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn’t have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he’s got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself… just because she’s gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn’t mean he won’t be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock’s ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

It’s been quite a while since I last read Jill Shalvis‘s books and this one is quite entertaining. The first chapter had me stumbled a bit – it hits me with this is overly done feeling – but I survive through the rest of the story.

As cute as the overall story is, the characters are not particularly endearing to me. The close-knit made-up family is something, there’s that. But even the alternate PoV between Colbie and Spence to allow readers to their inner thought – which usually engaged me to the characters – fail to impress me. The reason of why Colbie ran from New York and chose to remain incognito hovers over the story along with Spence’s reason to remain alone. I had a hunch and pretty much play guess what? throughout reading. I get the trying to get away part, yet Colbie still struck me as being childish by running away the way she did.

Also doesn’t impress me much is the portrayal of irresponsible ADULT siblings and parent in a rather over-the-top way. As much as I like good people as main character in books I read, having them as the only good force while the others are just too stupid to live is not something I prefer. And let’s not forget about the issue with agent/boyfriend. Granted, he’s a jerk for doing what he’s doing. But our heroine didn’t actually say: we’re done; you and me no more, capisce? before galloping away and having an affair with another guy.

Having said that, the issue with parents and/or relative on both main characters are touching. The way past deeds are still affecting the progenies long afterward, mentally and personally. That no matter the grudge or chasm between Spence and his grandpa they still love each other in their own way. Oh I have issue with Spence’s behavior and lack of groveling, but his caring for his grandpa even the balance.

All things considered, this is still a nice read for me. Although, considering I’m jumping in the middle of ongoing series, this installment doesn’t intrigue me to read other books much. Not totally prevent me from doing so either, maybe someday. I shall see if my mood change later. 😉

 

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the author/publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.


Purchase link:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Book Depository       Google Play       Kobo

Avon Romance

