ARC Review: Blood Guard (Mission #1) by Megan Erickson

cover114037-mediumTitle: Blood Guard (Mission #1)

Author: Megan Erickson

Publisher: Loveswept, Random House Publishing Group

Publication Date: September 12, 2017

Genre: Romance, Paranormal

Format: eBook, Print

Length: 230 pages

Rating: 3.5 Stars

 

synopsis

Enter a world of immortal danger and desire—and discover an incredible fate borne of blood.

Tendra: One minute, I’m a bartender in gritty Mission City; the next, I’m whisked away by a vampire named Athan who tells me that I’m the lifeblood of his clan. It sounds unbelievable, but he’s got evidence I can’t deny. Turns out, Athan belongs to an underground society of vampires who feed only on humans with their consent. Their enemies have no such qualms, and they want me dead. The only thing standing in their way is strong, sexy Athan. And the closer we get, the more tempted I am to let Athan feed. . . .

Athan: How could I have known when I snatched this snarky, beautiful human off the streets that she would change my destiny? As a loyal soldier, I must deliver Tendra to our future king—my brother. Empowered with the blood of ten generations of the Gregorie breed, she is fated to rule as our queen. But there’s something between us that’s so intoxicating, so carnal, I can’t help wanting Tendra for myself . . . even if it’s treason.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

Just a precaution: Don’t read blurb of the second book if you don’t wish for any spoiler prior to finish reading this book. Although, you might guess what it is anyway as you read Blood Guard.

I have only read Megan Erickson‘s YA MM books before and I quite like her writing style. This book is way different from what I’ve read from her before, but in no way it is less captivating!

Blood Guard is the first book her new “Mission” series, an AU paranormal tale about vampire covens war set in the city of Mission, America. Athan, one of the Gregorie clan’s prince, is charged with guarding Tendra, a Sanguivita whose blood is vital to the future Gregorie King, in their war against the Valarians. On their way to Gregorie compound, they find that Valarians enroll ruthless assassins – the Quellen – hunting for them. Running for their life from Mission’s underground and through nearby woodland to the compound, Athan and Tendra beset by ambushes left and right, even from the most unlikely source. And they only have each other to trust.

I’m quite taken with Athan and Tendra, both are strong and resilient type. One of the appeal for me is Athan’s gradual change in his outlook of human, while at the same time Tendra learn about vampire-related stuff. Then there’s the pull between them that’s there from their first encounter, but they don’t immediately act on it. Worry not, they have their time to heat up the pages, yet – fortunately for me – not overly much, and not for lack of momentum!

As the first entry to the series, this novel throws in necessary tidbits as the story goes. It is told alternately from both MCs’ POVs and complimenting each other’s accounts; shaping clearer past and world building. That saying, I do feel – with the story focusing on Athan and Tendra – it doesn’t offer much account on the side characters. Which is rather unfortunate, as I think they can add interesting grip to the story, given the chance. Not that it’ll stop me from looking forward to the next installment of the series! This series certainly gives interesting take on the vampire world and their long-lived feud and war.

 

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


 

Purchase link:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Kobo

Loveswept Books

