ARC Review: Accepting the Fall by Meg Harding

coverTitle: Accepting the Fall

Author: Meg Harding

Publisher: Oceanside Press

Expected Publishing Date: June 8, 2017

Genre: Contemporary, MM Romance

Format: eBook

Length: 61,000 words

Rating: 3.5 Stars 

Purchase link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

 

synopsis

Cole Whitaker is happy. He has the job and boyfriend he always wanted. His heart’s in no danger of being broken, and he can’t ask for more from life. As a kindergarten teacher, he sees it all; however, one troublesome student has him reaching out to the parent, wanting to help. There’s something about Savanah that tugs at his heartstrings.

He never expected her father.

Zander Brooks hasn’t had an easy life, and he’s made some mistakes. Freshly retired from the military and working as a firefighter, Zander thought he’d left Cole in the rearview mirror. He’s not expecting him to appear in St. Petersburg, Florida, of all places, teaching his daughter’s kindergarten class. Suddenly, his biggest mistake is being shoved in his face.

This is Zander’s chance to close a door he’d never fully shut, but time with his former flame might change his mind.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

Let’s face it, the kiddy and menagerie of pets element of the story were just hard to miss. Added a kindergarten teacher character to the mix and I’m hooked! Not only that, Accepting the Fall is a second chance romance between said teacher and his student’s father. This book is so off to a good start!

And boy did I enjoy reading it. The interactions between Cole and his students and Cole with his pets were the highlights for me. His sunny and soft hearted character can be felt even when he was not fully himself and it pretty much ease tone of the story. At first I was a bit wary over the possibility of him mooning over another while still in a relationship. But I’m glad at the way the issue was handled (that basically there’s no cheating involved, one of my not-to-cross-line).

Zander – as hot as he’s pictured to be – struck me as a flabbergasted character. His exchanges with Savannah was all kind of emotions; amusing, touching, heartbreaking. Yet I often felt his bewilderment on things were exaggerated. So NO, I didn’t think Zander being that way as charming; they made me want to smack him upside the head instead!

Another thing that didn’t work too well with me was the random flash backs. While it described past situation, to me it’s served to prolong the pages. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this slow burn of second chance between Cole and Zander; once bitten twice shy and all that. Borrowing Savannah’s favorite antics, there were just some scrunched-up-nose moments for me while reading. But it’s a lovely story.

 

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.

