ARC Review: Second Chance Season (Grand Valley, #2) by Liora Blake

cover105664-mediumTitle: Second Chance Season (Grand Valley, #2)

Author: Liora Blake

Publisher: Pocket Books, 

Expected Publishing Date: May 30, 2017

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: eBook, Paperback

Length: 336 pages

Rating: 3.5 Stars 

 

synopsis

Return to Liora Blake’s Grand Valley series with Second Chance Season, in which an avowed country boy with a family duty meets an ambitious city girl with even bigger goals and who shows him just what he’s been missing.

Garrett Strickland is unapologetically country, fiercely loyal, and perfectly happy with his job at the Hotchkiss Co-op. Garrett is all about living in the present and not dwelling in the past—even if he was once on his way to a lofty agricultural sciences degree that would guarantee the brightest of futures, only to end up back home when his old man died, leaving behind a debt-ridden family farm that was impossible to keep afloat. After that, it was easy to see why dreaming big wasn’t worth the heartache. And until he crosses paths with a city girl who’s hell-bent on kick-starting her own future, he’s sure that good enough is just that.

Cara Cavanaugh is ready for more from life, even if that means changing everything; including dumping her boyfriend of ten years, turning down a lucrative job at a major newspaper, and leaving behind the upscale suburbs of Chicago where she grew up. Now, she just has to pray that temporarily relocating to the middle of nowhere in Colorado will be the first step in building a career as a freelance journalist—all she has to do is prove she’s got what it takes to make a name for herself. Unfortunately, her tony country day school is as close to “country” as she’s ever been. But when a goodhearted guy who looks like he just stumbled out of a country music video offers to help, she ends up falling hard…and discovering that the perfect story is a love story. And it’s theirs.

Second Chance Season, book two in the Grand Valley series, is a charming, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Jennifer Probst and Kristan Higgins.


 

Personal Thought

First off, I like this cover better than the other one. Other than how the graphic have similar feel to the previous book which make for a common feel of the series; to me it also shouted bright beginning with the couple holding hands walking toward the sun. Sadly I couldn’t love this Second Chance Season as I did the first entry on Grand Valley series.

As the previous entry, this book’s also told from two POVs. I liked Garrett’s voice better than I did Cara’s. He’s all about living in the present, aware and accepting his shortcomings. Not that this character didn’t have any flaws. Despite the cheerfulness he presented the world, he bore deep scars that had him not fully trusting people and scared to step out of his comfort zone and embrace new challenge in life. Still, Garrett’s portrayal was realistic and sympathetic. The kind that gave good vibe for me while reading his side of the story.

Whereas Cara, with all her entitled, trust-fund, city girl aura didn’t strike me as strong character. I found it so hard to warm up to her, that I was rather put off when I thought her POV got bigger portion than Garrett’s. The alternate POVs weren’t done orderly so her voice “appeared” bigger at first. I counted, with resentment. That showed my aversion of what I thought a superficial (I mean: nosy journalistic brain who relying her reporting from Facebook and Google? Come on!) tone I thought Cara’s voice was. To be fair, as the story goes her character kept up with Garrett where it count and, despite my skepticism, she showed a surprisingly good understanding of Garrett.

Story wise, Second Chance Season is even-paced and well grounded contemporary with realistic characters. I might not like every one of them, but they were more than black and white picture I initially thought they were. I especially loved the scene involving Garrett’s close friends and the countryside they were quite amusing (watch out for the cow scene!). The banter and humor entertained me more than Cara and Garrett’s coupley scenario. But I closed the book with far better mood than when I started it. And I count that as a win! 🙂

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Book Depository       Kobo

Pocket Books

Advertisements