ARC Review: Lost Rider (The Coming Home #1) by Harper Sloan

lost-rider-9781501155192_lgTitle: Lost Rider (Book #1 of The Coming Home Series)

Author: Harper Sloan

Publisher: Pocket Books

Expected Publication Date: April 25, 2017

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Western

Format: eBook, Paperback

Page Count: 400

Rating: 2 Stars

 

synopsis

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

While I could take the occasional jerkasses behavior from a character, the level of which this book threw at me on early pages of the story were just… mind-boggling. Didn’t matter that it was a defense mechanism! They were just too much to grasp! And don’t get me started on the flow of endearments; I developed such dislike for darlin’, baby, honey just from reading this!! If it’s meant as Southern drawl charm or whatever, it just didn’t work for me.

As if it was not enough, the story suddenly turned and everything went hunky-dory. Just. Like. That. That past hurt scarred a person so much she had no confidence in herself or her body, even her own judgement… This didn’t merit enough portion to the story? To say I’m livid was an understatement!

I guess I’m not the most patient of reader. Bottom line, to me this book read as smutty and steamy tale of second chance starring a cocky and obnoxious hero with chip on his shoulders.

On the flip side, the bones of the story was actually interesting. A broken family bonded together by love if not by blood, family secrets that bridged that love, and – of course – true love that transcend anything and forgive everything. Yet somehow, the delivery just fail me.

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


 

Pre-order link:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Book Depository     Kobo

Publisher Page

Advertisements