ARC Review: The Bad Boy Next Door (Kendrick Place #2) by Jody Holford

cover106478-mediumTitle: The Bad Boy Next Door (Kendrick Place #2)

Author: Jody Holford

Publisher: Bliss, Entangled Publishing

Expected Publishing Date: March 20, 2017

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: eBook

Rating: 3 Stars

 

synopsis

Shay Matthews moved to Boston for a fresh start…new apartment, new job, new routine. After too many years being coddled by her overbearing older brothers, Shay’s ready for some freedom and maybe a nice, easygoing guy. She wasn’t expecting to literally run into the scowling, brooding, (and unfairly smoking hot) guy next door.

Fresh off a haunting undercover assignment, detective Wyatt Daniels is jaded about life, relationships, and especially happily-ever-after. But there’s something about the independent and beautiful Shay that makes him want to dig deeper. Or stay away, which is definitely the smarter option of the two.

But the more Shay tries to convince herself that her sweet building manager, Brady, is the guy for her, the more Mr. Completely Wrong-for-Her Wyatt invades her mind and her heart.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

That feeling when it’s a glorious day out after endless rain and you feel so energized, you stroll along the street just because(!) and then a car sped by and splashed mud all over you …and you went from happy to murderous; that’s pretty much what I felt between starting and finishing The Bad Boy Next Door.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s an engaging story! Since reading More Than Friends I was sure there’s more to the broody and mysterious tenant of Kendrick Place than glimpsed on that book, so I was quick to grab the chance to read this entry.

A character introduced in this series is Shay Matthews, a new tenant who just clicked with Wyatt. Frankly, the attraction between Shay and Wyatt was too sudden to my liking. But considering the flow of the story, I was willing to overlook the cliche and just enjoying the adorably awkward and stilted romance between these two. I even ignored loopholes on the timeline because: I just wanna soak on the fun and happy bubble of it all.

Until I got to oh, about the last one fifth of the book when – of course – there’s the need to burst the bubble and rain trouble all over happyland. Shay suddenly developed some harebrained ideas and pushed Wyatt into acting and saying things she didn’t like and she bolted. From there my happy feeling just plummeted!

Now don’t get me wrong. I love grovelling scene in a book …when it was required. What I saw here was an unfair treatment of Wyatt. Yes, he screwed up; but Shay was not totally faultless either. The whole issue – avoiding and moping around and turning deaf on any plead except for own voice – just grated on my nerves.

Thank gads for Brady and Gabby who still made the story interesting for me. Bottom line, I still like this installment better than the previous one, but not as much as I initially thought I would.

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Kobo

Publisher’s Page

