ARC Review: Firestorm (Dark Kings, #10) by Donna Grant

cover103876-mediumTitle: Firestorm (Dark Kings, #10)

Author: Donna Grant

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Expected Publishing Date: March 7, 2017

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Format: eBook, Paperback

Page Count: 368

Rating: 3.5 Stars

 

synopsis

SCORCHED BY DESIRE

Dmitri lives to protect the secret of the Dragon Kings from the human race. Bound by a bond stronger than blood to the Kings, Dmitri uses his strength and prowess to defend a thousand-year-old secret. But when an oh-so-sexy, slightly absent-minded archaeologist wanders into his midst, Dmitri will have to give up his rules, and give in to desire…

When Dr. Faith Reynold stumbles upon an ancient skeleton that appears it comes from a dragon, she’s completely taken aback. A woman of science, there’s no way in her mind that this mythological creature can exist. But when a devilishly handsome man named Dmitri intercepts her path to uncovering the truth, Faith’s curiosity turns into all-consuming passion. She’s never felt this way about any man before. But when Dmitri reveals his biggest secret, can she learn to love the man—as well as the dragon within, in Firestorm, the next Dark Kings novel by New York Times bestselling author Donna Grant.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

Curse it. Or more fitting: curse me!! I dived into this book with open eyes, knowing it is part of an ongoing series but thought I could ride the waves and made do. Well, not really. I’m quite stubborn though and there’s an upside to this whole experience: I get to read a new-to-me series and I have 9 books to catch up on the whole Dark Kings universe!

So. Yes, it was a bit of a struggle for a touch when I got to twenty percent of the pages; the multiple character’s voices on top of the hero and heroine’s and implied past events had me grappling. But. BUT. Firestorm is an intriguing story that hinted up at much more in the future, and sketched a not so clean-cut black and white picture to everyone or everything in the book. The Dark and Light Fae, the Druids, the Dragon Kings and kin; everyone seemed to have agendas.

Dmitri and Faith, the hero and heroine of this book, didn’t seem to be the most remarkable of the casts – though I hope to be proven wrong as the series progressing. Seriously though, except for Faith’s mysteriously missing part of family tree, I was more invested on other characters instead of this new couple. No surprise who I took notice of: Con and Ulrik – I really wish for an epic confrontation in the future of these two.

The ending of this book is a bit of a let-down for me. There’s no apparent closure and instead the questions keep on piling up; like me wondering if there’s consequences of Faith closing up the dig project without giving out explanation to the people funding the project, among others. It’s a clever ploy to follow the series for those eager to know the answer for sure. At least it worked that way for me. This entry to the Dark Kings series lured me to look for previous books in the series to catch up on each stories and what had been happening so far. More magic and men of dragon time for me; yay!

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link: 

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Book Depository       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

