ARC Review: Sprinkled with Love by Jennifer Faye

cover107563-mediumTitle: Sprinkled with Love (Bachelor Bake-Off, #3)

Author: Jennifer Faye

Publisher: Montana Born, Tule Publishing

Expected Publishing Date: February 21, 2017

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: eBook

Rating: 2.5 Stars

 

synopsis

What does one do with a matchmaking cat named Romeo?

Spirited and beautiful, Jillian Parker is one of Marietta’s newest business owners. Still, her mother worries about Jillian’s bare ring finger. So in order to give her mother something else to fuss over, Jillian adopts a cat named Romeo. He turns out to be anything but a docile lap cat.

One snowy night, Romeo makes a break for it. With Jillian right on his heels, they have a near miss with a passing pickup driven by Avery Wainwright, one of Jillian’s closest friends. A rodeo accident has the sexy cowboy returning home to recuperate, and he’s not happy about it.

So when Avery finds himself lassoed into the Bachelor Bake-Off, he turns to the one person who has always helped him out—Jillian. But will teaching him to take chances outside of the show ring have them both discovering that their feelings for each other run much deeper than they ever imagined?


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

While reading the other stories of Bachelor Bake-Off series, I’ve learned that male character of this book is the bachelor sponsored by Harry Monroe’s family, the name that major in the making the Bake-Off event. And so I was kinda expecting there’d be quite a bit of Monroe factor prominent in this book. I couldn’t be more wrong. But that’s not the major issue.

Of the stories I read so far, Sprinkled with Love has the least bake-off substance in it. It’s not necessarily a bad thing. Like the others, Avery got roped into participating in the event despite his lack of baking skill. This bachelor turned to old friend Jillian to help tutoring him. So yeah, the bake-off still played a part in bringing these two friends together. Somewhat. What – or who – the real trigger was actually Romeo, the cat. It could’ve been a cute and romantic tale. If only I love the MCs.

The story’s off to a good start and I actually liked Avery at first. Bear with me, this is gonna be a long one…

After the death of his parents Avery took care the role of guardian to his two younger siblings seriously (with some help from Jillian as the youngsters’s nanny). His siblings, rodeo career, and work at Crooked S Ranch were his focus; he was oblivious that Jillian bore a feeling for him.

The story started a few months after the siblings gone to college and military and Jillian no longer worked for the family. When he met her again, courtesy of Romeo the cat, he began to notice Jillian and the sparks between them. This guy loved his family so much he’s willing to do anything for them; who wouldn’t love that kind of guy!!

But then as the story goes, Avery started to act – in my opinion – weird, fickle, and judgy. He let anything – and I mean ANYTHING – affect his judgement and decisions on things! So, no. He’s not a true cowboy material for me. Jillian was still an okay character; a bit too affected by town-gossips but still showed some spines; still want to help making things right.

The crux of the matter here is Avery. His fickleness made the story run around in circles; I don’t want to settle down, do I want to settle down? I shouldn’t make a move on Jillian, I’m gonna get her to accept me, I don’t deserve her, I will not give up, she still had feelings for that guy, I’ll leave town and go back to rodeo. That was the bulk of the story to me. It’s really exhausting to follow Avery changes of fragile feelings. He really made this entry to the series felt overly long.

Plus, the pacing of the story is erratic; I lost track of the sequence in some of the scenes. And frankly, I don’t really need the epilogue to confirm the happy ending. The hurried (and anticlimactic) last chapter was more than enough for that.

At least there is the kiteh! Thank gads for Romeo (and Marshmallow) who made the hero’s acting out rather bearable for me. The cats earned special point for them alone. Sad really; I thought I was gonna love this book!

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

Amazon US       Barnes & Noble       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

