Book Review: Leo Loves Aries by Anyta Sunday

cover103263-mediumTitle: Leo Loves Aries

Author: Anyta Sunday

Publisher: Self-published

Publication Date: December 6, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, M/M Romance

Format: eBook

Rating: 3.75 Stars

 

synopsis

A new person will enter your life in the early year, Leo. Look past any moments of frustration they might bring and laugh—this could be the start of a thriving friendship.

Theo Wallace usually laughs at the horoscopes his mom sends. Still hung up on his ex-girlfriend and practically friendless, this one begs him to reconsider. Because a friendship that stuck, that thrived…

Well, that would be a reason to leave past pains behind and look to the Bright Future.

When his sister Leone challenges him to find her the perfect date for a spring wedding, Theo uses it as a chance to make new friends. Theo’s ex economics tutor and newest roommate Mr. Jamie Cooper seems to be a possible and convenient match. Real convenient. Like written in the stars, convenient.

All he has to do is make sure this Jamie is good enough. Could really be The One for her, and the friend for him.

But watch out, Leo, the stars have a surprise in store…

“Leo Loves Aries” is a sweet, slow burn, M/M romance with HEA. This New Adult, college, GFY, friends-to-lovers novel can be read as a standalone.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

A friend recommended me to read this book because I happen to be a Leo. *g* As luck would have it, I also have an Aries sibling. So the whole competing and squabbling the story had, the author got them down pat. I lived it. Though Theodore Wallace happened to be that charming and playful Leo as oppose to broody and grumpy me. 😉

But that’s not the only reason I liked Leo Loves Aries. I thought the cover illustrated Theo well – although no dimples showing – and the tone suggested at something lighthearted that will make one entertained reading it.

Even as adorable as I found Theo, it was exasperating how clueless and oblivious Theo here, with all those clues and hints thrown about. That’s part of the plot, sure. But, ARGH! Half the time I clutched my hair in frustration over his conducts. And Jamie – my sibling would love how Aries represented here – was Mr. Perfect all the way, though even he almost reached the limit facing Theo’s ignorance.

On another note, while I like the author’s writing and the story in general – I especially love the quotes at the beginning of each chapters – the way the chapters end and the start of the new ones felt too abrupt for me. It’s as if there’s overlooked details there.

Also – even though I love how easy-going Theo was – the fact that he took his attraction to Jamie in stride seems surreal. Perhaps, that he had other gay friends and his sunny nature helped him compartmentalizing that feeling and accept it. Though it still bugged me a bit.

My other concern is how stereotypically black and white the portrayal of exes in this book are. I get that something must have gone wrong that turned those people into exes; but I wish I saw glimpse of good of them here (I mean, at one point our MCs consider them good enough to date, so…) other than ended up hurting the MC’s feelings.

Having said that, the way Theo rallied to express his feeling with actions was quite charming. Yes, the book has predictable happy ending, but readers would have an enjoyable ride reading this.

Copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Purchase Link:

Amazon

Author’s Website

