ARC Review: Completely Yours by Erin Nicholas

fbc0833749fefed3b9ecc96132ea0004Title: Completely Yours (Opposites Attract, #1)

Author: Erin Nicholas

Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)

Expected release date: December 20, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Page count: 320

Format: eBook, Paperback

Rating: 3.75 Stars

 

synopsis

Kiera Connelly leads a quiet life, and that’s just how she likes it. She’s built a name as a graphic designer and meets up with her friends online, all from the comfort of her living room couch. But when a rare outing turns disastrous, Kiera finds herself up close and way too personal with an unbelievably hot real-life hero.

Zach Ashley doesn’t see himself as a hero. He’s just a regular guy who gets to help people every day as an EMT. But when he’s called to a scene and has to treat his most gorgeous patient ever, he finds himself mixing work with pleasure. He never hesitates to put his life on the line…but will he ever risk his heart?


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

Meeting a real life hero at Comic Con?? Bring it on!!

First of all, I would love it had that cover pictured Kiera and Zach in their proper outfit – Kiera in one of her cosplay costumes and Zach in his EMT uniform. It would totally shout out the core of the story! Not that I don’t like the current cover already, it’s just a thought.

Second of all, how come I’ve never read a book by Erin Nicholas before? If her books anywhere near this one, I have surely been missing out. The good thing is, this is a first of a new series; so I still have more to look forward to other her other titles!

Completely Yours features a hero-complex EMT and geeky graphic designer Kiera Connelly; who first met when Zach responding to scene at a convention which Kiera attending. The pull of awareness hit and hit hard – I know, I wasn’t too impressed with the whole instant attractions, but I forgive them because: circumstances! What’s with the disaster of the Comic Con roof collapsed and all – but they were a bit wary acting on it as they realized how totally different they were from one another.

Instant attraction aside, I like how the connection between Zach and Kiera developed. The gamers talk both entertained and baffled me along with Zach, but perhaps because of that I feel sort of a kinship with him that I *might* be heavily taking his side on most of everything here.

So, if there’s such a pull between them, are there any scene of passion in the story? Worry not, there’s plenty! At least to me it feels plenty since Zach couldn’t seem to stop drooling over the geek girl here.

In between sexting and on-hands sexy times, there are deeper issues the characters dealing with, which had me teary-eyed a time or two. There were the family problems, the past betrayals, the hero-complex, fear to get (too) close to be hurt; how sharing all these and open-up turned the initially simple liaison complicated. These moments were what made the bond and feeling between them – as instant as it felt in such a short time – to be real.

That I liked both MCs really helped me to like this book. The secondary characters – among which I’m sure will have their own turn of the limelight in the series – jazzed up the story, even sometimes in a way that I don’t care so much. In case you’re wondering, I was referring to Zach’s sister Aimee that somehow I couldn’t warm up to, even to the final page. Others might not agree with me, but I thought of her as ungrateful, selfish sibling who didn’t give back as much as she took.

But my biggest discontent lied on the last chapter, especially how this book missing a scene where Aimee apologize to her brother; not to prove who was wrong but for the hurtful words she hurled at him. Also the closing Thanksgiving scene was too farfetched to my way of thinking. Throughout this book we saw the wary interactions Zach and his sister had, but never about his parents. No backstory whatsoever what moved his parents to renew an effort. The whole thing seems being done just for the sake of giving a perfect ending to the story.

In spite of my resentment to the Ashley clan, this was an endearingly sweet and touching story. I really look forward what the author had in store for the next book.

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


 

Pre-order link:

All Romance       Amazon       Book Depository       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

