ARC Review: Wolf Unleashed by Paige Tyler

29155101Title: Wolf Unleashed (SWAT, #5)

Author: Paige Tyler

Publisher: SOURCEBOOKS Casablanca

Expected Release Date: December 6, 2016

Genre: Paranormal, Romantic Suspense

Format: eBook, Paperback

Page Count: 352

Rating: 3 Stars

 

synopsis

“A SWAT team of hunky werewolves? I think I have an emergency NOW!!” —Kerrelyn Sparks, New York Times bestselling author for In the Company of Wolves

SHE BRINGS OUT THE WOLF IN HIM
Lacey Barton can’t deny her crazy attraction to Alex Trevino, but that doesn’t mean she has time for the gorgeous SWAT officer. She’s hell-bent on discovering who’s behind the brutal dogfights sending countless mauled animals to her veterinarian office. The trail leads Lacey to a ring of vicious drug dealers and suddenly she’s in way over her head—right smack in the middle of a SWAT stakeout.

With Lacey in danger, Alex’s wolf side is unleashed. But when she witnesses Alex shift, she’s even more terrified… Now it’s up to Alex to crack the case—and earn back Lacey’s trust and, ultimately, her heart.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

I told myself over and over: don’t have any expectation; just read and go with the flow. I guess since SWAT: Special Wolf Alpha Team is one of my favorable series so far, I slipped up.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying this is a bad story. But I had issue with one of the main character, which lead to much fuming throughout reading.

Taking the spotlight in this book is Alex Trevino, former Marines and snipper/paramedic for the team. He might not be as noisy and nosy as Becker and Cooper, but readers who follows this series wouldn’t forget Alex on a scene where he saved Tuffie, a pit bull that became the team mascot. When Tuffie’s regular Vet was unavailable, the one taking over was the female who turned out to be Alex’s mate. Who turned out to be my main issue in this book.

Other than on Xander and Becker’s stories, each SWAT’s mate went through denial upon finding out their men were werewolf. That was to be expected. What bugged me about Doc. Lacey was her holier than thou approach and the whole playing hard to get. Again, there were reasons behind those which was rather MEH in my opinion. Added to that her lack of grovelling over the wrong she had done to Alex.

Another regret I have was – fitting though the title with what Alex went through – the unleashing phenomena was not particularly put forward. I felt it’s treated like a one time wonder and that’s all. On another note, this book opened path to a whole lot of bigger problem to the SWAT pack which no doubt would trickle in the next installments of the series.

I’m rather miffed with Alex in his being too forgiving and resigned on dealing with Lacey and the way his actions was what drew more attentions (and thus, more problems in the future). But my big issue really laid on one Lacey Barton and her involvement with Officer Trevino. Oh, I’m still gonna continue reading this series, but I really hope not only the plot more interesting than present in A Wolf Unleashed, but the pack members met a much compelling pairing than this female Vet here. Fingers-crossed.

Advanced copy of this book is provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

All Romance       Amazon       Book Depository       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

