ARC Review: My Cowboy Freedom by Z.A. Maxfield

29536949Title: My Cowboy Freedom (The Cowboys, #5)

Author: Z.A. Maxfield

Publisher: InterMix

Expected Publication Date: November 15, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, M/M Romance, New Adult

Format: eBook

Rating: 3 Stars

 

synopsis

The author of My Cowboy Promises and My Cowboy Homecoming returns once again to the Rocking C Ranch… 

After doing time, Skyler is used to fighting for everything he wants, and what he wants most is a job at the Rocking C. But Sky’s boss Sterling Chandler is a vocal homophobe and his men don’t necessarily trust an ex-con. Sky plans to mind his own business and put his past behind him; hopefully, the men he works with will do the same. That doesn’t mean he wouldn’t like a friend—especially one like shy giant Rock Evans.

But Rock has health problems, which come with expensive bills, and a hyper-protective family that won’t hesitate to intervene if Sky gets too close. He can either fall in line with his family’s beliefs, or lose what little independence he has. Both Rock and Skyler are about to learn that there’s more than one kind of prison in My Cowboy Freedom…


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

First off: I have this series on my to-read list for a while, but haven’t got around to start yet. However, while those books might clue me in better on the goings-on in the pictures – especially since the previous two My Cowboy Homecoming and My Cowboy Promises took place at the same ranch, where some characters most probably appeared – I didn’t find any difficulty following the plot. And it was a sweet story. Most of the time, anyway.

The main casts here were Skyler Brody – an ex-con out on parole – and Rock McLean – an ex jock who survived a freak accident and changed into a better person. It was attraction at first sight since Sky came into Rocking C and saw shy giant Rock and his service dog Maisy. Considering their background and premises (whose owner not exactly show support for queer), it was no wonder both are wary with that attraction.

Their interaction was both adorable and heartbreaking at the same time. The author brought frightened kid under the cautious young men’s veneer to life; in a way, both of these men’s life had drastically changed when they were still quite young. Sky and Rock’s budding relationship felt real due the clumsiness of it.

On another note, I’m never comfortable with people using religion to justify their wrongdoings to others. Not comfortable is putting it mildly. I dislike that so much. Unfortunately none of the man of cloth in here acted to the contrary. To make matters worse, one was family. Now I understand this issue is nothing new, but I just fed up with it.

That saying, after years of not budging, the parent’s change of heart felt so sudden. Making it seemed like the story was running out of pages – true though it might be – and the author needed to tie some loose ends. Personally that made the last twenty percent or so of the story felt like a mad dash to finish.

At least – having read this – now I feel I’m up to read My Cowboy Promises (that was the least title of this series I want to read due to the blurb). 😉

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

All Romance       Amazon       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

