Book Review: My Boyfriend’s Back by Elliot Cooper

31929255Title: My Boyfriend’s Back

Author: Elliot Cooper

Publisher: NineStar Press

Publishing Date: October 10, 2016

Genre: Paranormal, Romance

Format: eBook, Paperback

Pages/Word Count: 172 / 61,600

Rating: 4 Stars

 

synopsis

After losing both of his parents, Academy of Magecraft student Steven Durant doesn’t want to see anyone else lose a loved one before their time. Traditional resurrection methods, however, only create mindless, flesh-hungry zombies; they’re no cure for death. He’s certain his unique brand of necromancy—using alchemy and blood magic—is the only answer.

When his boyfriend, Dax Everhart, has a fatal accident, Steven sees no choice but to use his experimental Lazarus Elixir. Dax comes back wrong, but the more humans he consumes, the more human he becomes.

With the help of his best friends, his ghostly aunt, and her living doll homunculus, Steven fights to regain normalcy and repair his shattered relationship with Dax. But with Dax openly embracing his monstrous nature, Steven shoulders the guilt of assisting in a murder spree that could lead the mundane and magical police right to their door.


♦ Personal Thought ♦

I received free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I took the book warning (depictions of blood, gore, and cannibalism) to heart and actually hemmed and hawed before deciding to grab a chance at reading it. While I read a few books with zombies on them, the creatures were usually the bad guys the heroes fought against. My Boyfriend’s Back is not that kind of story.

Set in an alternate universe where mages and supernatural beings (ghosts, vampires and zombies among others) lived among the mundanes or regular people, the story was told from Steven Durant’s POV. He came from an old family of mage who dabbled in blood magic, the gift that lead to him brought his boyfriend -Daxon Everhart – who died from freak accident back to life. Ergo, the often close portrayal of blood, gore, etc etc I mentioned earlier.

But don’t let that discourage you! Messy images aside, My Boyfriend’s Back is an interesting fiction to read. It was a roller-coaster of emotion read; the scenes had me cringing in horror and laughing at the same time, or smiling through teary eyes. This wasn’t your usual zombie story where you chant “die zombie, DIE! or urge “someone please cut off the undead’s head already!”.

I didn’t particularly find Steve attractive with his depressing and somber character, but I couldn’t help to feel for him. Dax was a charming one before and after his death, even covered in blood munching and slurping on people! The array of secondary characters helped to spice up the story (although I thought the spiel with Bailey was a bit odd).

Considering the casualties, the ending might appear rather tame. However, a HEA or HFN – or anything with happy note to end a story, really – preference that I am, I really didn’t mind! Though I wish the last two chapters could be extended than shown here.

This was my second time reading Elliot Cooper‘s books and I definitely would look for more. Mr. Cooper’s characters were engaging and I really enjoyed his writing. Bring on the next Halloween read! 😉


Purchase link:

All Romance       Amazon       Book Depository       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

