Book Review: Out of My Mind by AJ Truman

31815316Title: Out of My Mind  (Browerton University #3)

Author: AJ Truman

Publisher: Self-Publishing

Publishing date: August 29, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, M/M Romance, New Adult

Page: 302

Format: eBook, Paperback

Rating: 3.5 Stars

 

synopsis

Mac had to be out of his mind.

Completely out of his ever-loving mind to even consider rooming with Gideon. The same guy he kissed during his freshman year who said he was straight. He’s held Mac’s mind hostage for the last two years after running out that one special night. Mac was a fan of social experiments, and this one was going to be a doozy.

Gideon doesn’t sweat anything. He was always two lies ahead of everyone. A master at spinning rock solid alibis to protect the house of cards that was his life. To Browerton University, he’s the popular guy getting over a breakup. To his family…the dutiful and responsible son. But rooming with Mac was bringing up old memories and forming new ones. First, a friendship develops, and then a late night infused with alcohol pushes them into uncharted, benefits-laden waters.

As their sexual experimentation continues, and the lies add up, both of them fight to withstand the feelings growing between them, feelings that could ruin their friendship and topple Gideon’s house of cards for good.

Out of My Mind is the 3rd book in the Browerton University series, but can be read as a standalone. It contains humor, heart, and hot guys. This book is intended for readers 18+.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

Copy of this book received for the exchange of fair and honest review.

I feel it’s only fair to start with humbly admitting of initially having pretty low expectation …due to the cover. Quite judgy, I know. I had thought it would (mostly) be a mixed of humor and lots of smut. I couldn’t be more wrong!

Out of My Mind was a bag of mixed emotions told from two young men’s POV in a lighthearted yet gripping way. I don’t particularly have patience for confused character like Gideon who made lying a daily operation. Surprisingly though – note that I underlined the surprised expression – despite his often douchiness I gradually warmed up to him and could get where he had come from.

I’m not much of a New Adult genre fan and have never read A.J. Truman‘s book before, much less the previous ones in the series. But it certainly didn’t dampen the enjoyment of reading this story. I laughed, frowned with disapproval, got teary-eyed and clutched at my chest while reading this. The author just portrayed the confused and hurt characters so well, even if it often made me want to slap them upside the head for it.

The things I still couldn’t deal well with was the things pertinent to religion. On one side I totally get that this was often the fact of life that often happen around us. But the needling Jewish mother in Gideon’s life had me banging my head on the table repeatedly. She was such a classic worrywart I gritted my teeth every time she came in the picture.

I was also quite upset with how misfortunes never seem to leave Mac alone. It truly felt to me there was imbalance of stroke of bad luck in the story. Perhaps I’m just being too nit-picky about it all.

The above grumbling aside, this was an entertaining read for me, in some part even quite humbling. It’s a nice experience as an intro to a new-to-me-author; and I’ll be on the look-out to other titles by this author.


Purchase link:

All Romance       Amazon US       Kobo

