ARC Review: All the Good Parts by Loretta Nyhan

 

 

cover89057-mediumTitle: All the Good Parts

Author: Loretta Nyhan

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

Expected Publishing Date: September 20, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, Women’s Fiction

Format: eBook, Paperback

Page Count: 324

Rating: 3.75 Stars

 

synopsis

At thirty-nine, Leona Accorsi is broke, single, back in school, and living in her sister Carly’s basement. She’s perfectly content being quirky Auntie Lee to Carly’s four children. That is, until Leona’s doctor tells her that if she wants to have a child, she’d better do it now.

Leona does want a baby. She always has, but the circumstances have never been right. Now she has a huge decision to make: face motherhood on her own or risk missing out on its rewards.

Unfortunately, she’s let her romantic life go stagnant. She barely even knows any single men. She has just a few prospects: a Vietnam vet and partial amputee, his intimidating son, the sweet but troubled man who tutors her niece, and a fellow nursing student she’s never actually met.

As Leona discovers more about each one, she realizes any of them could be the right man for the job. The more important question is, has she become the right woman?


♦ Personal Thought ♦

I picked up All the Good Parts as I was tickled by the blurb, and parts of which resonated with me. Having never read any Loretta Nyhan‘s books before, I genuinely had no clue what to expect with it.

The story turned out to be engaging and fun to read. It was a self journey of Leona Accorsi – not quite middle age lady – told in first person’s POV, with a character so far from perfect that made her ideal for the story. She was content living with her younger sister’s family, being a helpful, loving and quirky aunt to the Brophys, until her doctor told her that the biological clock would soon running out of battery. 

Leona was a regular nice woman you could meet in real life; juggling between her not-so-lucrative work as Health Aide while finishing her nursing course and helping taking care of her little sister’s kids. When facing with question of who to father the baby she wanted to have, the available options were not exactly top notched. Nyhan’s writing brought these up in stark relief while being entertaining at the same time.

And as exasperated I was with Leona (with how easily she was browbeaten – usually – by her sister into questioning herself) I found myself sympathized with her. And although I resent Carly whenever (I thought) she undermined Leona, I could also feel the closeness and love she had for her big sisters. Again, their connections felt so real, the interactions the high and low common between siblings.

Granted, some parts of the story inclined toward comedy – I referred to the baby shower scenes – which was too exaggerated to my liking. But for the most part, while guessing along whom Leona would end up with, I had fun. Oh, I shed a tear or two, fuming often, but at the end of the day this realistic tale brought smile on my face. And I think I’m game to try and read more of Nyhan’s book after this.

Advanced copy of this book is kindly provided by the publisher viaNetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


 

Pre-order link:

Amazon US       Book Depository

Author’s Website

