ARC Review: Hard to Hold by Katie Rose

cover89646-mediumTitle: Hard to Hold (Hard to Play #1)

Author: Katie Rose

Publisher: Loveswept, Random House Publishing

Expected Release Date: September 13, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: eBook

Page Count: 296

Rating: 3.5 Stars

 

synopsis

“Katie Rose writes sexy, skilled sports heroes who know how to treat a woman right!” raves Wendy S. Marcus. Now the award-winning author of the Bad Boys of Baseball series introduces a team of soccer stars who score on and off the pitch.

New Jersey Hurricanes striker Logan Hart lives for the grind of training, the adrenaline of competition, and all the perks of the road—until his ex hands him a baby and tells Logan to raise her on his own. He’s eager to pass this bundle of joy into more capable hands and get back to his hard-playing, hard-partying ways. But when a beautiful, blond drill sergeant of a nanny turns Logan’s life upside down, he sets a new goal: winning her heart.

Isabella Bennett takes pride in teaching the rich and famous how to become loving families. Her no-nonsense style is just what Logan and his crying, copper-haired cutie need. So why can’t she get the image of Logan’s tanned, muscular body out of her head? Isabella’s here to whip a new father into shape, not fall for a sexy ladies’ man. But their chemistry is too tantalizing to ignore, much like the temptation to trust someone with her deepest secrets—and embrace a loving family all her own.


 

♦ Personal Thought ♦

I was pleasantly surprised with this book. Another new-to-me author (I do that more and more this year) and I picked it up because – DUH – the lead character was a footballer, as in soccer not an NFL one. So. Footballer with baby girl met a fierce nanny. Of course I was intrigued! It turned out to be enjoyable, sweet and touching.

Initially, I was not too fond of Logan the supposedly gorgeous hunk of a footballer daddy here. Everything about him seemed to be contrary; such as described as this yet doing the opposite instead. Plus, I didn’t really get the significance of the story over his teenage UK-stay with his supposedly change of characters up to present time. Perhaps,this could be more interesting were said past put an annoying appearance somewhere in the present chapters. But no, he felt slighted and resent his father over it, yet later on there was no …resolve or some kind of closure over it. Just Logan thought back of them a couple of times.

But – and I did put emphasis on that BUT – I gradually warmed up to him, especially related to the way he conduct himself with baby Cinnamon and her nanny. This jock was not a bad boy at all.

Of Isabella the nanny, I’ll just put my impression of her by quoting what she said when she first stepped into Logan life:

“…we need to get something straight. I am a nanny. I am not the babby’s mother or father. You are. “

“…You won’t be alone. I’ll help you. But if you think you can just outsource raising your baby, that doesn’t work for me. Are we clear?”

Well, hello? Who wouldn’t love a heroine who could put someone in his place like that?? The lady was no pushover. I love a strong female character! Imagine the clash of two strong personalities, undercurrent attractions, with a dash of cuteness from the baby; you’d get the gist of the tone of the story.

As I mentioned earlier I’m new to Katie Rose‘s works. But it’s safe to say that I like her writing. There’s no over the top drama here, and what I liked best from her characters was that they owned up to their mistakes (instead of making excuses or blaming others) then didn’t waste time to try to fix it. That, and – despite the mutual attractions – the MCs did not jump each other bones straight away. There were steamy scenes, sure. But at least there was phase, development, before they finally do the tango and beyond. There were other aspects here which were overlooked and predictable, but I tried to be less nit-picky for a chance.

Hard to Hold is the first of a new series which revolved around the boys of New Jersey Hurricanes in MLS (Major League Soccer). I look forward to more on the next installment of Logan’s teammates. In the mean time, I’d make do catching up with her books of Baseball players on The Boys of Summer series. 😉

Advanced copy of the book is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

Amazon US       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

