ARC Review: Love Blooms on Main Street by Olivia Miles

27416042Title: Love Blooms on Main Street (Briar Creek, #4)

Author: Olivia Miles

Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)

Expected Publishing Date: July 26 2016

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: eBook, Mass Market Paperback

Page Count: 352

Rating: 2 Stars

 

synopsis

Fans of Jill Shalvis, Susan Mallery, and RaeAnne Thayne will love the fourth book in Olivia Miles’s Briar Creek series.

Love is always in season . . .

Florist Ivy Birch fantasizes about the day a man will surprise her with a beautiful bouquet of flowers. Especially if that man happens to be Brett Hastings. One stolen kiss at her best friend’s wedding and Ivy can’t get the sexy ER doctor out of her head.

In the small town of Briar Creek, you can’t avoid anyone for very long. Not that Brett has been trying to avoid Ivy. He just can’t afford to let anything distract him from his work-not again. So when a hospital fundraiser throws them together, love is the last thing on his mind. But with her quick wit and sweet laugh, soon the one woman he’s tried to keep at arm’s length is capturing his heart…


♦ Personal Thought ♦

This falls under the “it’s not you, it’s ME” category. I picked this book assuming it’d be a sort of fluffy, light-hearted read with a dash of humour. I didn’t expect to be bored silly.

Perhaps because …I don’t get it. A pair of mature man and woman who got hung-up by a kiss throughout the book. They talked about it; agreed on that moment as “nothing” yet still hung-up on it. At least the majority of pages in this book had the main characters on that position.

I thought Ivy’s crush on Brett as merely that: a crush. He was described as a smart, handsome hunk – with dimples, no less – and a doctor. But I really didn’t see Brett’s sterling characters that inspired such a lasting infatuation. Inside Brett Hastings was a worrywart with superior issue (he’s a doctor! Of course he felt superior. Doh). There was some sort of “explanation” why he became that way (father issue, mother’s past illness, self-guilt among chief reasons). Surprisingly though, those didn’t warm me to him. He’s a superficial glory-chaser, that’s what he was to me.

On a positive note, Ivy, the heroine was a tough young lady in the way she’s handling her diabetes and her business. I often questioned her daydreaming of a future with Brett; or how deep she really feel because for having a circle of such a close friend she rarely connect with people. I get the reasoning though her character didn’t impress me that much either.

More so when suddenly, after half the book of awkward not-really-friends, they jumped the guns and sleep together. The sex – thankfully – was off page. But the swing in the relationship had me head spinning. No, their chemistry was not believable at the beginning, it didn’t improve to the last page. Your grinning and hands-on-pocket pose didn’t win me, Brett. Nuh-uh. The rushy ending didn’t help either (I practically sneering by the time they happened).

And do we really need the extra chapters with that focus on Kara? I’m going to, again, assume she’ll be having her own book later on. I just thought her part of the story -with the cookies and all – could be told as an aside. To have a mini episodes in the story was distracting and not a little annoying to me.

So, I blame myself to have picked this book. It’s all on me. But the cover looks cute, though. I loved that.

Advanced copy of this book is provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Pre-order link:

Amazon US       Book Depository       Kobo

Publisher’s Page

