Book Review: The Rogue by Monica McCarty

29280744Title: The Rogue (Highland Guard #11.5)

Author: Monica McCarty

Publisher: Buccaneer Press LLC

Release Date: April 18, 2016

Genre: Historical, Romance

Format: eBook

Page Count: 168

Rating: 3 Stars

 

synopsis

A novella set in the world of New York Times Bestselling Author Monica McCarty’s Highland Guard Series.

What’s not to love? Not only is Sir Thomas Randolph, Earl of Moray, one of the most important and wealthiest men in the kingdom, he’s charming, devastatingly handsome, and the favored nephew of King Robert the Bruce. Even so, when Isabel “Izzie” Stewart meets the vaunted knight, she’s glad he’s her cousin’s soon-to-be betrothed and not hers. He takes himself far too seriously, to her mind, and seems to be acting out the role of the “perfect” knight. In her experience, men who are too good to be true usually are. But when Izzie starts to wonder whether her first impressions might have been wrong, she discovers a complex, compelling man who is far from perfect and more seductive than she ever imagined.


♦ Personal Thought ♦

I apologized for disregarding Randolph throughout this series (he was NOT my favorite person, to be honest). Yet he turned out to be rather likable after all, at least not as pig-headed as James Douglas (I know, I know, I have to stop comparing them!) and he followed the grovelling path nicely.

And Izzie – of course, don’t forget Lady Isabel Stewart! – I’ve always liked her much better than Elizabeth or Joanna Douglas. So, this pair do not aggravate me as the Douglases. Thank gads!!! (That’s the last, I swear!) This was the kind of lass that would compliment the array of tough spouses of Highland Guards. This is one of my favorite quotes from her:

“When I fall in love, it will be with someone who knows how to laugh at himself, who doesn’t mind making a few mistakes, who doesn’t think the world is his personal stage, and who has something meaningful to say beyond what he thinks I want to hear.”

Set during the siege of Edinburgh Castle period, this novella is one of the less war-like story of the series. Also, because the story took place concurrently with those in The Rock, a lot of the sequences only described as an aside. In light of those, I wouldn’t recommend this novella to be read as a standalone. I’d suggest reader to finish The Rock first as to have more sense of the goings-on in this novella.

A somewhat predictable plot – discounting the events happened in The Rock – post siege. But since we got to meet Hawk and a couple other guards there, I didn’t mind so much. He taught Izzie a good thing to irritate Randolph.

I hereby forgive Randolph for the past disloyalty and antics he had done. And now I finished this, I’m ready to dive into The Ghost! 🙂


 

Purchase link:

Amazon US       Kobo

