ARC Review: Into the Fury by Kat Martin

25476514Title: Into the Fury (BOSS, Inc., #1)

Author: Kat Martin

Publisher: Zebra, Kensington Books

Expected Publication: January 26, 2016

Genre: Romance, Contemporary

Format: eBook

Rating: 3 Stars

This is my first Kat Martin book and I picked this as it’s a first one on a new series. Turned out the character is related to The Brodies of Alaska trilogy (which I haven’t read; I shall have to remedy that).

Overall I didn’t have major issues with this book. I liked Ms. Martin’s writing and her main characters here, Ethan Brodie and Valerie Hartman, were both charming in their own way. That there was cat and a little girl in the picture was not a deterrent either (I love pet in books).

Well, Ethan’s high-handed manners sometimes could be overbearing, but considering he was on duty as bodyguard (among other things), I approved.While I’m glad that Val also had characters despite her rather sordid past (or most likely because of it, it irked me no end over Ethan’s ex issue (again, what was it with scorned woman that made them depicted as bad all the way, not even fit to be a good mother!).

On revealing the bad guy(s) part, there were couple of brows-raising moments when Ethan got involved with the police work and the way he went about it. With his background as homicide detective, I thought he was not being circumspect enough. On the other hand, the fact that our MCs and co actually got scratches – even wounded – made the story more real.

What bugged me was the sudden filling of supporting characters scenes. While I understand theirs was to be the next installment in the series, which is Into the Whirlwind, their background story could be implied without being as detailed as here (they even had their own steamy pages).

On top of that, the issue this pairing had – while glaringly obvious – w.as exasperatingly lack of conviction. Considering this, I might be wary of reading book #2. Well, we’ll see.

Other than the above sore points though, I still like the ups and downs of the story. The epilogue felt like summary that tried to tied all loose ends nicely. But I found it less annoying than trespassing scenes of Dirk and Meg.

 

ARC is kindly provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the exchange of a fair and honest review.

synopsis

A bodyguard, a bounty hunter, a P.I.–the men of Brodie Operations Security Service, Inc. are down for the job. . .

Sinners, whores, and sluts beware–your time is at hand: a faceless menace is threatening lingerie models on a cross country tour, and Ethan Brodie is there to defend and protect.

Ethan’s learned the hard way that beauty is no substitute for character. So even though Valentine Hart is one of the most breathtaking women he’s ever seen, he’s keeping his hands off and his eyes open. Or that’s what he tells himself.

Then one of the models is murdered, and the closer Ethan gets to the answers, the closer he finds himself to Valentine–and the hotter the pressure feels. There’s more to Val–more to the other girls–than he could have guessed. But one is keeping a secret that could kill them all.


pre-order link:
Kensington Books     Amazon US     ARe     Kobo
