Hooked on A Feeling: My Foray Into The World of Yaoi and M/M Romance Books

Image
Some of my yaoi mangas/novels and M/M books

It’s not a new thing really. Rather, this is something that’s been going for about a little over a year. I can’t honestly say when I started to read yaoi and M/M romance. I vaguely remember browsing through the web searching for something new to read. It wasn’t like I had no other books to read. In fact, I was heavily on the book-hoarder side; I still am in fact. But at that time, despite the stack of books awaiting to be read I looked for more.

It was during those browsing that I found a yaoi manga, or rather an OVA, in youtube. Among my first findings are Ayano Yamane‘s Ikoku Irokoi Romantan, Ryo Takagi’s Kirepapa, and Shungiku Nakamura‘s Junjou Romantica. These three stories were what hooked me to yaoi. They’re funny, beautiful, yet touching. The characters are all — well, mostly — of handsome young man. The plots are not what you call complicated. Often it’s even hilarious and over the top. But at the  time, it was so refreshing to me that I craved for more!

Image
Ayano Yamane’s Finder volume 1 (it’s available up to volume 6 now).

Of course, me being me, just watching it on the net didn’t satisfy me at all. I had to have it. It was during the search to buy DVDs of the aforementioned OVAs that I realized they actually adapted from manga. DUH! Some of you might say. But hey, I was new in this genre!

Then came the process of trying to get the mangas. Imagine what happened when because of where I live (the country where I reside in) it’s next to impossible to purchase it! Anything with this genre is just off limit to send to my address. Doomed!

Image
Saki Aida’s yaoi novel: S. Completed in volume 4.

Fortunately for me at that time, I got acquainted with someone working on a bookstore with giant retailers. We met through Twitter (yes, what a small world eh?) through our love of novels. Turned out we share the same like for yaoi manga and, get this: the bookstore actually had some yaoi genre in their shelves. A little, not much! But YAY! for that little I could get. 😀

Afterwards through that friend I often got some mangas or novels supplied. That made me sound like an addict, right? I guess that’s close to describe it though. It’s a craving to read more that need to be fulfilled. Seriously. I’m not exaggerating here. This so-called cravings brought me to scanlations websites. There are many to find on the net. You can read the mangas for free online, but sometimes you can’t expect too much of the translation or even scanning qualities. Thanks to my friend though, I managed to collect some of the best yaoi manga in prints.

Image
Jet Mykles’s Heaven Sent book 1-4

Of course, it’s never enough! 😀

I cruised the net and ended up with Kobo http://www.kobobooks.com   the only site I found I could really purchased whatever yaoi mangas and/or novels available. Combining all these sources I got still not enough. That, as my friend said at that time, because you (or in this case: me) already grown and needed other and more mature stimulant! :p

Thus was how I bought my first M/M book, a Jet Mykles’s Heaven Sent series. If you’re familiar with Jet’s works, just as I found out later on, she was very much influenced by manga besides sci-fi, fantasy, futuristic and paranormal. She even have explicit images on her website but I won’t get into that now. 😉

Image
Some of my Josh Lanyon‘s print books I managed to get.

Shortly after this, I bought and read Josh Lanyon’s Fair Game which got me infatuated with the fictional Professor Mills and Special Agent Lance. This tittle is only available in e-book which is rather disappointing because when it comes to books I’m rather traditional and still prefer prints to electronics. Being a friend in book-selling business, my friend then stocked me up with Mr. Lanyon’s available print titles. And thus begun my being smitten with most of the author’s works. The rest is history.

As time goes by my craftiness to find and get new books has much improved, be it print or electronics one. One of the things that triggered this was my friend resigning from the bookstore. Another was I gobbled up the stories more than I got the supply, LOL. And of course, as much as both my friend and I have things in common, we might not feel the same about every single titles we saw. I started to search my choice of books on my own. So I joined the M/M Romance group in Goodreads, I follow some of M/M books reviewer sites, I signed-up to many M/M books publishers for e-books purchasing. And last but not least, my traditional side insisted, I also signed-up to Book Depository http://www.bookdepository.co.uk  for any available prints I want to get. This all works for me so far and I rather enjoy my foray into the yaoi and m/m romance world. (D)

For those of you having trouble finding info, reviews, or even access to buy M/M books, here are some links I can recommend to you:

http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/20149-m-m-romance

http://www.reviewsbyjessewave.com/

http://top2bottomreviews.wordpress.com/

http://www.allromanceebooks.com/

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php

http://store.samhainpublishing.com/

http://www.loose-id.com/

http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/

http://www.riptidepublishing.com/

https://spsilverpublishing.com/

 

6 thoughts on “Hooked on A Feeling: My Foray Into The World of Yaoi and M/M Romance Books

  1. I’m slightly weirded out right now – you sound like me !
    I’m totally with you on the ebook vs print book 🙂
    and also – Stuart Wakefield (author) has amazing books! I adore them

    1. Every so often we meet kindred spirits out there 😉
      I haven’t read any of Stuart Wakefield books. Might give it a try once I finish all my yet-to-read stash here…

  2. reading this post again.. I even started last year – around march I think! So in the Josh Lanyon collection you have (print) which one would you suggest reading first? 🙂

    1. From my print collections… Hmm, that’s a tough one.

      I’d started with “Somebody Killed His Editor”, 1st of Holmes & Moriarity series. But if you like a slightly Holiday feel you might like to try “To All A (Very Sexy) Good Night” in which it has JL’s “The Dickens with Love”.

      I really recommend “Fair Game” though. It’s among my favorites of his books. 🙂

  3. It was great to read the story of how you got into the m/m romance genre! It sounds like you really have a love for books. What has been your favorite genre to read, so far?

Comments are closed.